23 researchers given prestigious fellowships

Members of the Wellcome community have been elected fellows of two prestigious organisations.

Wellcome's logo

Fourteen have been elected Fellows of the Academy of Medical Sciences, and nine have been elected Fellows of the Royal Society.

We congratulate all the researchers recognised in these announcements.

Fellows of the Academy of Medical Sciences

  • Professor James Berkley, Principal Investigator, KEMRI Wellcome Trust Research Programme.
  • Professor Andrew Biankin, Regius Chair of Surgery/Director of Translational Research Centre, University of Glasgow. Senior Investigator Award.
  • Professor Charles ffrench-Constant, Professor of Medical Neurology, University of Edinburgh. Senior Investigator Award.
  • Dr Matthew Hurles, Head of Human Genetics, Wellcome Trust Sanger Institute.
  • Professor Tracey Hussell, Director, Manchester Collaborative Centre for Inflammation Research, University of Manchester. Investigator Award.
  • Professor Arthur Kaser, University Chair of Gastroenterology, University of Cambridge. Senior Investigator Award.
  • Professor Susan Lea, Oxford University Statutory Chair of Microbiology, University of Oxford. Collaborative Award.
  • Professor Giovanna Mallucci, Department of Clinical Neurosciences, University of Cambridge. Collaborative Award.
  • Professor Susan Michie, Director of the Centre for Behavioural Change, University College London. Collaborative Award.
  • Professor Owen Sansom, Beatson Institute for Cancer Research, University of Glasgow. Collaborative Award.
  • Professor Kate Storey, Head of the Division of Cell and Developmental Biology, University of Dundee. Senior Investigator Award.
  • Professor Brian Walker, Professor of Endocrinology, University of Edinburgh. Investigator Award.
  • Professor Robert Wilkinson, Director, Wellcome Centre for Infectious Diseases Research in Africa, University of Cape Town. Senior Research Fellow.
  • Professor Thomas Williams, Chair in Haemoglobinopathy Research, Imperial College London. Senior Research Fellow.

Fellows of the Royal Society

  • Neil Burgess, Institute of Cognitive Neuroscience, University College London. Principal Research Fellow.
  • Krishna Chatterjee, Director, Wellcome PhD for Clinicians Programme Cambridge, University of Cambridge., Senior Investigator Award.
  • Anne Ferguson-Smith, Head of Department of Genetics, University of Cambridge. Senior Investigator Award.
  • Andrew McKenzie, MRC Laboratory of Molecular Biology. Senior Investigator Award.
  • Alison Noble, Technikos Professor of Biomedical Engineering and Associate Head of MPLS Division, University of Oxford. Affordable Healthcare in India Grant.
  • David Owen, Professor of Structural and Molecular Biology, University of Cambridge. Principal Research Fellow.
  • David Rubinsztein, Cambridge Institute for Medical Research Deputy Director, University of Cambridge. Principal Research Fellow.
  • Angus Silver, Professor of Neuroscience, University College London. Principal Research Fellow.
  • Jonathan Stoye, The Francis Crick Institute. Investigator Award.

Jeremy Farrar, Wellcome’s Director, said: "It’s fantastic to see the achievements of such a large number of our community recognised by both the Academy of Medical Sciences and the Royal Society.

"I wish to send my congratulations to all those elected, who were chosen for their contributions to science and the benefits these bring to society. We have such a wealth of talent across our research community and are especially proud of those honoured today."