Members of Wellcome Trust community recognised by Academy of Medical Sciences

Fifteen members of the Wellcome Trust community, both funded researchers and committee members, have been made Fellows of the Academy of Medical Sciences.

Academy Fellows are elected for excellence in medical research, for innovative application of scientific knowledge or for their conspicuous service to healthcare. The expertise of the new Fellows includes haematology, bioinformatics, immunology, psychiatry, biochemistry and health services provision.

Dr Jeremy Farrar, Director of the Wellcome Trust, said: "Many congratulations to all those who have been recognised by the Academy of Medical Sciences today. We are extremely fortunate to have such a wealth of talent in the UK biomedical community. We are especially proud of the medical scientists honoured today who have been supported by the Wellcome Trust. They have all made major advancements in preventing and treating ill health."

The 15 Fellows either funded or associated with the Wellcome Trust are: