Bursaries available for the Global Forum on Bioethics in Research satellite meeting

The Wellcome Trust is offering a series of bursaries to enable participants to attend the 2014 Global Forum on Bioethics in Research (GFBR) satellite meeting in Mexico, to explore, discuss and debate the ethics of conducting research on humans in low- and middle-income countries.

Meeting for the first time since 2008, the GFBR will convene at the International Association of Bioethics' World Congress of Bioethics, which will take place this year in Mexico City. Serving as a relaunch for the GFBR, the one-day satellite session, to be held on 24 June 2014, will focus on the ethics of international collaboration, and will be attended by bioethicists, policy makers and researchers from all over the world.

Paul Woodgate, Society and Ethics Research Funding Adviser at the Wellcome Trust, said: "The Wellcome Trust is committed to ensuring strong engagement with evolving ethical issues relating to contemporary research practice in developing countries. Having attendees from a wide range of backgrounds and countries will strengthen not only the Global Forum on Bioethics in Research as an event, but will help to strengthen the field in general. We are delighted to be able to offer these bursaries and provide an opportunity for a truly diverse group of people to attend the Forum."

The bursaries are being financed by the Wellcome Trust and the NIH Fogarty International Center, and will fund around 50 participants' attendance at the GFBR satellite meeting. Information on the selection process can be viewed on the Wellcome Trust's funding pages.

The satellite meeting is being organised by the GFBR Interim Steering Committee, with the support of the NIH Fogarty International Center, the UK Medical Research Council and the Wellcome Trust.

The GFBR Interim Steering Committee members are: Anant Bhan, India; Elizabeth Bukusi, Kenya; Yali Cong, China; Catherine Elliott, UK; Patricia J Garcia, Peru; Katherine Littler, UK; Florencia Luna, Argentina; Joseph Millum, USA; Michael Parker, UK; Barbara Sina, USA; Douglas Wassenaar, South Africa.