Grant enquiries

You should be able to find the information you need to apply for funding on our scheme pages.

If you can’t find the answer to your question there, contact our information officers:

Send a message

Or call +44 (0)20 7611 5757 (opens in a new tab) (opens in a new tab)

Our opening hours are Monday to Friday, 09.00–17.00 (GMT/BST).

If you’ve already submitted your application

A grants adviser will be in touch within 5 working days. They will be able to answer any queries you have.

If you need advice on a specific topic

The following members of staff can provide advice.

Grant conditions
Joan Saitch
T +44 (020) 7611 8896

Intellectual property policy
Joan Saitch
T +44 (020) 7611 8896

Misconduct (academic/research)
Anne Taylor
T +44 (020) 7611 8243

Open access
Margaret Hurley
T +44 (020) 7611 7374

Research services office contact
Roger Blake
T +44 (020) 7611 8427

Staff contacts

Head of Grants Management

Alyson Fox joined the Trust in 2010, following 13 years working in drug discovery in Pharma, initially as a lab head and later as Disease Area Head, leading a team of 60 researchers. Alyson obtained her PhD in pharmacology from King’s College London and then spent six years undertaking postdoctoral experience, initially at UCL and then followed by a Wellcome Trust fellowship at Imperial College London. She has experience in neuroscience, respiratory and gastrointestinal research areas.


T+44 (0)20 7611 7278

Grants Operations manager

Lorraine Shepherd has a PhD in physiology from the University of Oxford. She has been at Wellcome since 2003 and has been a team manager in Grants Management since 2008. Lorraine is responsible for overseeing the Grants Operations Team and the grants application process. She is a member of the secretariat for the Science Interview Panel.


T +44 (0)20 7611 7305

Grants Logistics manager

Sinéad Lane has a PhD in pharmacology from University College Cork. She joined Wellcome in 2004 and has been a team manager in Grants Management since 2009.


T +44 (0)20 7611 8380

Grants Services manager

Anne Taylor is head of the team responsible for our electronic application system, WT Grant Tracker, the Grants Information Desk, grant-related policies, grant data analysis and liaison with host institutions. She is also the key contact for scientific misconduct and other grants-related governance issues. Anne’s previous roles within Wellcome have included grant processing and committee management. Before working here she was a scientific postdoctoral researcher.


T+44 (0)20 7611 8243

Grants Information manager

Nina Frentrop joined Wellcome from the public sector in 2012 where she worked in a variety of operational roles. She is responsible for the Grants Information Desk, all grant-related training, systems support and data analysis.


T+44 (0)20 7611 7307

Liaison and Reporting manager

Roger Blake has worked for the Trust since 1990 in a variety of grant-related roles. His current responsibilities include support for the promotion of Wellcome’s funding opportunities and policies, Grants Assurance activity (ensuring that grant funds awarded are spent in accordance with grant conditions), oversight of the Institutional Strategic Support Fund for UK universities, and liaison with University Research Services.


T+44 (0)20 7611 8427

Policies and Governance manager

Joan Saitch joined Wellcome in 1996. She advises on grant conditions and general grant policy, including intellectual property policy.


T+44 (0)20 7611 8896

Neurosciences and mental health team manager

Lucy Foss is responsible for overseeing grant applications in the area of neuroscience and mental health. She is committee secretary for the Cellular and Molecular Neuroscience Expert Review Group.


T +44 (0)20 7611 7301

Infection and immuno-biology team manager

Sheilagh Molloy has a PhD in biochemistry/molecular biology from the University of Liverpool. She joined Wellcome in 2014, following more than 10 years working in scientific publishing, and is responsible for overseeing grant applications in the area of infection and immuno-biology. Sheilagh is committee secretary for the Immune System in Health and Disease Expert Review Group and the Public Health and Tropical Medicine Interview Committee.


T +44 (0)20 7611 7326

Cellular, Developmental and Physiological Sciences / Innovations

Victoria Marlow. Details to follow.


T +44 (0)20 7611 8428

Genetic and molecular sciences team manager

Helen Thompson is responsible for overseeing grant applications in the area of the genetic and molecular science. She is committee secretary for the Genetics, Genomics and Population Research Expert Review Group and the Molecular Basis of Cell Function Expert Review Group.


T +44 (0)20 7611 7301

Population health team manager

Katherine McCurrie has a PhD in molecular microbiology from University College London. She has been at the Trust since 2010 and is responsible for overseeing grant applications in the population health remit, as well as international grants. Katherine is the committee secretary for the Population and Public Health Expert Review Group.


T +44 (0)20 7611 8409

Culture & Society team manager

Emma Callaghan has a Bachelor of Arts from the University of Cumbria. Before joining Wellcome in 2007, she was an analyst in the early stage technology fund at NESTA (the National Endowment for Science, Technology and the Arts) and worked at several start-up companies in both the creative industries and for the not-for-profit sector. Emma is responsible for overseeing grant applications in the area of Culture & Society.


T +44 (0)20 7611 8864

Clinical activities manager

James Harden oversees delivery of the various schemes and opportunities for clinical academics, and serves as secretary to the Clinical Interview Committee. Before working at Wellcome, James received training in Biological Sciences at the University of London.


T +44 (0)20 7611 8574

Basic careers scheme manager

Louise Williams oversees delivery of Wellcome's personal support schemes for basic scientists from Vacation Scholarships to Senior Research Fellowships and coordinates the Principal Research Fellowship scheme. She is secretary to the Sir Henry Dale Fellowship Interview Committee, Basic Science Interview Committee and Wellcome Trust-NIH four-year PhD Programme Advisory Committee.


T +44 (0)20 7611 7261