Humanities and Social Science Selection Panel

This panel interviews shortlisted Investigator Awards and Collaborative Awards candidates and makes funding recommendations.

Panel members are selected for their breadth of expertise and skills in interviewing. The members listed below attend all meetings. If necessary, there will be additional experts on the panel.


Professor Anna Mastroianni (Chair)

School of Law, University of Washington, Seattle, USA

Professor Felicity Callard

Durham University

Professor Jeff Collin

University of Edinburgh

Professor Lorraine Daston

Max Planck Institute for the History of Science, Berlin, Germany

Professor Kara Hanson

Faculty of Public Health and Policy, London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine

Professor Anne Kerr

University of Leeds

Professor Jeffrey Kahn

Johns Hopkins Berman Institute of Bioethics, Baltimore, USA

Professor Laurie Maguire

Faculty of English, University of Oxford

Professor Michael Parker

The Ethox Centre, University of Oxford

Professor John Tresch

University of Pennsylvania, USA


Jack Harrington

Portfolio Development Manager

Wellcome Trust


We expect members to comply with our Conflict of Interest Policy [PDF 181KB].