Joint Health Systems Research Committee

This committee considers applications for the Joint Health Systems Research Initiative.

Members are listed below. Additional experts will join the panel as necessary.


Professor Sara Bennett (Chair)

Johns Hopkins University, USA

Dr Irene Agyepong

Ghana Health Service

Dr Lesong Conteh

Imperial College London

Professor Lucy Gilson

University of Cape Town, South Africa

Professor Jane Goudge

University of the Witwatersrand, South Africa

Dr Margaret Kruk

Harvard University, USA

Professor Susan Fairley Murray

King's College London

Professor Christopher Millett

Imperial College London

Professor Anne Mills

London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine

Professor Obinna Onwujekwe

University of Nigeria

Dr Inge Petersen

University of KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa

Professor Tomas Pantoja

Pontifical Catholic University of Chile

Dr Kabir Sheikh

Alliance for Health Policy and Systems Research, Switzerland

Dr Alice Street

University of Edinburgh

Professor Shenglan Tang

Duke Kunshan University, China

Dr Nhan Tran

World Health Organization, Switzerland

Dr Veronika Wirtz

Boston University, USA

Professor Roman Xu

Sun Yat-Sen University, China


Rebecca Grayson

Grants Adviser, Population Health

Wellcome Trust


We expect members to comply with our Conflict of Interest Policy [PDF 137KB].