Basic Science Interview Committee

This committee interviews candidates shortlisted for Sir Henry Wellcome Postdoctoral Fellowships and Research Career Re-entry Fellowships.

Members are listed below. Additional experts will join the panel as necessary.


Professor Chris McCabe (Chair)

University of Birmingham

Dr Elizabeth Bayne

University of Edinburgh

Dr Paul Chadderton

University of Bristol

Dr Eileen Gentleman

King's College London

Dr Lindsay Hall

Quadram Institute

Professor Karl Hoffmann

Aberystwyth University

Professor Ian Humphreys

Cardiff University

Professor Andrew McIntosh

University of Edinburgh

Professor Stuart Neil

King's College London

Dr Emma Rawlins

University of Cambridge

Professor Caroline Relton

University of Bristol

Professor Blanca Rodriguez

University of Oxford

Dr Elena Seiradake

University of Oxford

Dr Tony Southall

Imperial College London

Professor Edward Wilding

University of Nottingham

Professor Steve Williams

King's College London


Jaime Townend

Grants Adviser, Genetics and Molecular Sciences

Wellcome Trust


We expect members to comply with our Conflict of Interest Policy [PDF 137KB].